Cannes 2014

Since it was founded in 1946, Cannes Film Festival always had a special place in the hearts of numerous filmophiles across the globe. We may assume that the main reason for that is that wonderful element of surprise that surprise the element of emotion and the winner’s diversity. And this year’s Cannes was not different whatsoever. 

As rumoured a few days ago, Palme d’Or went in the hands of a fabulous photographer and director Nuri Bilge Ceylan for his intimate story “Winter Sleep”, which carefully follows an Anatolian landowner and his surroundings (whether we’re talking about people or the actual environment). We remember the Turkish director for several soft but memorable movies including Grand Prix winner “Once Upon a Time in Anatolia” from 2011 and “Three Monkeys” from 2008.

Grand Prix went to Italian director and screenwriter Alice Rogrwacher for “Le Meraviglie”, and American Bennett Miller won the Best Director award for his biographical drama about Olympic Wrestling Champion Mark Schultz, “Foxcatcher”.


Winners of 2014 Cannes Film Festival
Winners of 2014 Cannes Film Festival

Brilliant Julianne Moore won the Best Actress award for her performance in the newest David Cronenberg drama “Maps to the Stars”, while Timothy Spall snatched the Best Actor award for his performance in “Mr. Turner”, for whom the “winning rumour” started sometime at the beginning of the festival.

One of the most interesting and rawest winners at this years’ Cannes was definitely “Левиафан”, a new Russian masterpiece about a man and his fight against corruption, directed by innovative and extraordinary Andrey Zvyagintsev, who also wrote the screenplay. He shared the Best Screenplay award with Oleg Negin. In 2003 Zvyagintsev won the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival “Vozvrashcheniye”, another brilliant story about two boys and their fight with emotions. 

On Friday, it was announced that “White God,” Kornel Mundruczo’s audacious drama about a young girl and her separation from a dog won the Un Certain Regard Prize. 

President of the Jury on this years’ Cannes Film Festival was Jane Campion, a New Zealand director, producer and screenwriter.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.